Tears of Joy


Tears of joy

for this little boy

change my soul forever.

 

At the first touch

I didn’t feel so much

as I do now

 

When I screamed

my release to the beams

as I gripped with white knuckles.

 

He slipped from my womb

into the sterile birthing room

I sighed with relief and watched

 

As they took my little boy away

and said he could not stay

and the worst pain occurred

 

It was neither contractions

nor the actual birth happening

nor even the placenta being born

 

It was the doctor and those hands

as then up, up, and up

and squeezed my raw uterus

 

But as I put him to my breast

and lay down for much-needed rest

Anything is worth it for my child

Leave a Reply

